MSWord | PDF

M E D I A   R E L E A S E

23 November 2013

Capital Arts Patrons’ Organisation (CAPO) announced the winners of the 14 awards in its 30th annual grants round at the CAPO annual gala fundraiser auction and party, on 23 November at Canberra Museum and Gallery (CMAG).  This annual event and exhibition is the culmination of CAPO’s work to support and celebrate local artists and arts patronage.

Surrounded by 150 artworks generously donated by artists, the awards were presented by Dr Chris Bourke MLA and sponsors. The CAPO awards provide financial and in-kind support for a range of new arts projects by emerging and established artists. The CAPO Fellowship with a value of up to $15 000, the Rosalie Gascoigne award valued at up to $5000, and the CAPO Board 30th Anniversary Award for Established Artists ($2000) are funded through the sale of donated art and business items at the annual fundraiser and auction.  Other awards are sponsored by businesses trading in our area.

CAPO’s most prestigious award was presented by Dr Chris Bourke MLA to glass artist, Matthew Curtis.  Curtis will be the 2014 CAPO Fellow. He intends to work collaboratively with Jock Puautjimi from the Tiwi Islands, incorporating Jock’s designs in a series of glass objects, where multiple and precisely moulded components are reheated and then fused as a complex whole. 

Alison Jackson, winner of The Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award will use her grant to create new range of tableware objects utilising her current research and prototyping relating to the fusion of traditional silversmithing techniques with industrial processes.

The Reading Room CAPO London Exhibition Award is open to artists from throughout Australia.  This year’s winner is Emma Beer, an Australian National University graduate. Beer will travel to London to exhibit her work in constructed colour field painting. She intends to use her time in the UK to research the development of abstraction throughout Britain.

The Macquarie Wealth Award was given to Andrew Townsend and Suzie Bleach to purchase fundamental workshop equipment including a MIG welder, a plasma cutter and associated welding equipment as they begin to rebuild their studio following a catastrophic fire earlier this year. 

Several new awards were presented for the first time in 2013. The Fuji Xerox Sustainable Art Award went to composer and puppeteer, Marianne Mettes. Marianne will produce a series of shows for children involving marionette (string) puppets created from toilet rolls.  Marianne’s characters live in a world created from recycled materials, as they experience the struggles of ‘living in a world of rubbish’.  Their story uses minimal words and is mainly told through Marianne’s original music, and the dance, gestures and movements of the puppets.

To mark the 30th Anniversary of CAPO and Canberra’s 100th anniversary, the CAPO Board funded a special, one-off award.  The CAPO Board 30th Anniversary Award for Established Artists was presented to Marzena Wasikowska. Marzena will travel to Niagara Falls to create images of sublime turbulence. She will further develop and extend the concepts underpinning earlier digital photographic images into a new body of work of greater depth and scope than her previous, almost accidental exploration.

Alison Munro’s award from Sage Legal Services will support a residency for which she has been selected at Chiang Mai University Faculty of Fine Arts in Thailand over summer, to develop new work investigating the relationship of pattern to the scientific measurement and mapping of the natural world.

Claire Primrose will use the Eckersley’s Materials Award to develop and extend her collection of abstracted landscape paintings, inspired by the man-made textures found in everyday public urban spaces even further, by translating the imagery into a series of gesturally expressive screen-prints on paper.

Sally Adair, recipient of the National Press Club’s Emerging Artist Award, intends to use this for the purchase of sheet metal, the cost of laser-cutting steel pieces and the workshop fees to participate in the graduate-in-residence program in the Sculpture workshop at the ANU School of Art in order to enter the public art arena, as well as furthering her expertise in working with metal as a sculptural medium.

The Workplace Research Associates Award will assist Alex Boynes with funding for the materials to construct a new modified version of the sculptural “stage” and associated costs for the performance installation “Dark Matter”, to be presented at ANCA Gallery in March 2014.

Debra Jurss won the Capital Insurance Brokers Award which will assist her in creating a freestanding series of 3D glass sculptures to complement the related vessels that she plans to make in her Canberra Glassworks residency in March 2014.

The McGrath Woden Emerging Artist Award winner is Katy Mutton, who will use this award to create a new body of work intended to explore the stories and cultural context of returned servicemen as they attempted to reintegrate into society post-conflict, to be exhibited first at The Art Vault in Mildura, Victoria in June 2014.

The King O’Malley’s Award was presented to Bettina Hill. The artwork ‘Un-Scientific’ builds on her previous woven paper sculptures and is a large scale grid of woven paper, rippling with geometric curves which will line most of the walls and floor in Gallery 4 at CMAG next year.

Nic McConaghy won the Urban Pantry Manuka Award. He will use this in the development of a large scale, fixed-media composition, which seeks to express the various cultural and environmental aspects of the Australian Alps through the electroacoustic medium. It will utilise various compositional techniques and aesthetics inherited from the acousmatic tradition to capture and convey the exquisite spectral detail and expressive power of the soundscape of Australia’s snow country.

Images and more information about CAPO awards are available. Please direct all CAPO enquiries to Marilyn Gray at the CAPO office on 02 6249 7860, mobile 0407 512 296.

Capital Arts Patrons Organisation Inc. GPO Box 954, Canberra ACT 2601