8 September 2012

The Capital Arts Patrons’ Organisation (CAPO) is pleased to announce the winners of its 11 awards in 2012.

Awards were presented at the CAPO annual gala fundraiser auction and party on 8 September at M16 Artspace. This annual event and exhibition is the culmination of CAPO’s work to support and celebrate local artists and arts patronage.

Surrounded by 102 artworks generously donated by artists, awards were presented by Dr Chris Bourke MLA and sponsors. The awards provide financial resources for a range of new arts project by emerging and established artists.

CAPO’s most prestigious award was presented by Dr Chris Bourke MLA to Robert Boynes, an internationally renowned artist living and working in Canberra. Boynes will wear the CAPO Fellowship hat for the next year and undertake new work as he continues his exploration of pictorial language to convey social and environmental concerns. This work with new etching plates will facilitate printing of multiple images, allowing for a wide variation of interpretation and treatment.

The Reading Room CAPO London Exhibition Award is open to artists from throughout Australia and this year was given to Karena Keys, an Australian National University graduate. Keys will travel to London to exhibit her work combining paint and textile processes. She intends to use her time in London to establish relationships with arts professionals working within the sphere of contemporary textiles.

Suzanne Moss, winner of The Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award will use her grant to create part of a new body of drawings and paintings as ‘lullabies’: luminous, rhythmic, geometric abstractions – on linen and paper. The Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award is sponsored by Community CPS Credit Union.

The Singapore Airlines Award will provide Nicola Dickson the opportunity to travel to museums in Paris and London where she can collect source material and study the construction of chintz imagery.

Established composers in the ACT will benefit from Thea Zimpel’s award from Sage Legal Services through her creation of a small ensemble that will perform its works as part of the 2013 Canberra New Art Music Project.

Bernie Slater will use the Eckersley’s Materials Award to study with a mentor to develop lithographic printmaking techniques in order to produce a new body of work.

Fiona Veikkanan, recipient of the National Press Club’s Emerging Artist Award, intends to create a new body of photographic work.
The Workplace Research Associates Award will assist Gary Lee with printing and framing costs.

Rosalind Lemoh won the Capital Insurance Brokers Award which will make a contribution to her sculptural practice and pursuit of overseas opportunities.

The McGrath Woden Emerging Artist Award is a new award for 2012. Its recipient, Erin Conron, intends to use it to create glassworks for her first solo exhibition at Beaver Galleries.

CAPO’s newest award, the Macquarie Wealth Award was given to Karen Strahan and Jill Walsh to present an original Australian musical comedy theatre production called Check You Checkin’ Me!

Images and more information about CAPO awards are available. Please direct all CAPO enquiries to Marilyn Gray at the CAPO office on 02 6249 7860, mobile 0407 512 296.