31 August 2012

A gala night of arts and entertainment that is not to be missed!!

M16 Artspace in Blaxland Street, Griffith will open its doors at 6.45pm on Saturday, 8 September 2012 to welcome guests of Capital Arts Patrons Organisation (CAPO) to the CAPO29 gala auction and awards ceremony. Throughout the evening, there will be music by The Fuelers and a superb selection of gourmet food and drinks.

The CAPO annual exhibition offers an insightful look into the life and culture surrounding Australia’s capital through the artists who contribute to a creative community and flourishing art production across a range of media. A catalogue accompanies this significant exhibition and is available at the auction and online.

Over 100 artworks will be on display, ready to be auctioned during the night, and valued from $100 to over $4000. They include works in lighting, photography, painting, printmaking, drawing, jewellery, sculpture, textiles, ceramics and glass.

Eleven awards, including the prestigious CAPO Fellowship, will be given to artists. CAPO’s awards are granted to support artists’ professional practices and projects, and are assessed on artistic merit, community benefit and significant opportunity for the art practice.

Susan Ellis, a member of The Griffyn Ensemble and a former CAPO Fellow said, “Every year I have a blast trying to get a bargain and pick the ‘chosen’ art at the Art Auction Gala and Award announcements. I am always happy and excited with the treasures I bring home and really, it is a highlight of the year for me. CAPO assisted me to go to Germany so I encourage others to support the next fortunate artist who will
have the life changing opportunity I had”.

A record number of artists from Canberra and the Capital region have donated to the CAPO 29 exhibition, which will open to the public prior to the auction, from 1-8 September from 9am – 5pm. at M16 Artspace.  The exhibition is free of charge to visitors. This is a great opportunity to view the exhibition at leisure and identify favourite artworks prior to the auction.

CAPO President Neil Doody said, “Every year, the Board is grateful for the support of artists in our community who generously donate works. We appreciate the support of M16 Artspace in presenting the exhibition over this week.”

Tickets for the CAPO 29 gala auction and artist awards ceremony on the 8th of September can be purchased online at www.capo.org.au. Only ticket holders can bid in the auction.

CAPO is a non-profit organisation and all proceeds are directed to the local arts community through grants
and fellowships. CAPO is generously supported by donations from Canberra’s artists and leading

Media Contact:
Neil Doody 0419 422 232 Marilyn Gray 0407 512 296 or capo.arts@bigpond.com.au
Capital Arts Patrons Organisation Inc GPO Box 954, Canberra ACT 2601 www.capo.org.au

Full list of CAPO 29 artists below.
Interviews can be arranged. Images are available.


  • Alison Alder
  • Alex Asch
  • Brett Bailey
  • Jane Barney
  • Emma Beer
  • Vivienne Binns OAM
  • Richard Blackwell
  • Sean Booth
  • Julia Boyd
  • Penny Boyer
  • Alexander Boynes
  • Robert Boynes
  • Jacqueline Bradley
  • Julie Bradley
  • Briolettei Broomhall
  • Jan Brown AM
  • Heather Burness
  • Sarah Carlson
  • Scott Chaseling
  • Trevelyan Clay
  • Liz Coats
  • Sarit Cohen
  • Brian Corr
  • Elisa Crossing
  • Hamilton Darroch
  • Linda Davy
  • Mariana del Castillo
  • Nicola Dickson
  • Sally Dunbar
  • Trevor Dunbar
  • Daniel Edwards
  • Anna Eggert
  • Linzie Ellis
  • Tania Evans
  • Geoff Farquhar-Still
  • Jack Featherstone
  • Caren Florance
  • John Forrester-Clack
  • Robert Foster
  • Rachel Freeman
  • Cecile Galiazzo
  • Helen Geier
  • Holly Grace
  • Bernie Slater
  • Duncan Smith
  • Gary Smith
  • Kate Stevens
  • Dan Stewart-Moore
  • Nick Stranks
  • Genevieve Swifte
  • Carole Griffiths
  • Marie Hagerty
  • Lizzie Hall
  • Nicci Haynes
  • Lauren Hewitt
  • Bettina Hill
  • Gregory Hodge
  • Bev Hogg
  • Fiona Hooton
  • Alison Jackson
  • Elizabeth Kelly
  • Karena Keys
  • Julian Laffan
  • Waratah Lahy
  • Cathy Laudenbach
  • Cinnamon Lee
  • Gary Lee
  • Rosalind Lemoh
  • Dan Lorrimer
  • Joy McDonald
  • Kerry McInnis
  • Anita McIntyre
  • Ann McMahon
  • Daniel “Byrd’ Maginnity
  • Nikki Main
  • Peter Maloney
  • Ian Marr
  • Ishak Masukor
  • Natalie Mather
  • Alison Munro
  • Paul Murray
  • Timo Nest
  • Derek O’Connor
  • Elena Papanikolakis
  • Mike Parr
  • Claire Primrose
  • Kirsty Rea
  • John Reid
  • Gilbert Riedelbauch
  • Luna Ryan
  • Julie Ryder
  • Harriet Schwarzrock
  • Tara Sheild
  • Andrew Sikorski
  • Lia Tajcnar
  • Wendy Teakel
  • Frank Thirion
  • Fiona Veikkanen
  • John R. Walker
  • Ruth Waller
  • Jonathan Webster

Media Contact:
Neil Doody 0419 422 232 Marilyn Gray 0407 512 296 or capo.arts@bigpond.com.au
Capital Arts Patrons Organisation Inc GPO Box 954, Canberra ACT 2601 www.capo.org.au