2021 Award Winners

CAPO’s most prestigious award – the CAPO Fellowship – was presented by Karen Quinlan AM to composer and musician Michael Sollis who will be the 2021 CAPO Fellow. Michael intends to use his Fellowship Award to create digital works that ask the question “What do the stars mean to you?” alongside collaborative artists.

The Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award has been presented to Sian Watson. Sian will use this Award to cast a series of wax sculptures in bronze which were made during lockdown, exploring the connections between humans, animals and concepts of time. The Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award is funded by Bates & Pickering.

The Tall Foundation Award was awarded to Michele England. Michele’s project develops new skills in gold gilding, punching and painting techniques emphasising sustainable materials that will contribute to a new body of work.

The Robert Foster Memorial Award was presented to Bengt Cannon, to enable him to purchase a new hydraulic forging press. He intends to use this to push his practice to new heights, combining ancient crafts with modern manufacturing techniques. The Robert Foster Memorial Award is funded by TSA.

The Craft ACT Outstanding Practice Award was given to Jennifer Robertson, who will use the funding to develop new earth science-inspired 3D woven sculptural panels and lighting for interior use, exploring structure and shaped imagery using inorganic, durable carbon, metal and mineral fibres.

The Shaw and Partners Award went to James Tylor, who will use the award to focus on perfecting his woodworking skills to make contemporary sculpture blending Kaurna Indigenous carving and Australian British-colonial woodworking for exhibition in late 2022.

The Belco Arts Inclusion Award went to Olympia Sarris, who will produce a public exhibition of artworks that tell a story of lived experience, as well as creating wearable art in the form of polymer clay badges and earrings for people with disabilities and their allies.

The Canberra Weekly Award was presented to Tom Buckland, to purchase a digital video camera for the production of new video-based works.

There were two winners of a MPS Travel & Tours Award this year. The first was given to The Australian Voice Collective, Artistic Directors Rachel Campbell and Paul Bissett to produce “A Little While Longer…” It will be a powerful short musical film about the helplessness young people can feel when their friends withdraw because of depression

The other MPS Travel & Tours Award went to Kirsty Zane. Kirsty will use this award to support travel to the USA to attend a professional reading of her dark comedy screenplay “Happy Ending Retirement Home”.

The winner of the Capital Chemist Award was Larah Nott. This award will allow her to create a new body of objects and jewellery for exhibition in 2022/2023.  She will be exploring hot forging and raising of titanium, and furthering her research into electrolytic colouring of titanium.

The Workplace Research Associates Award went to Akie Haga. Akie will use her award to purchase equipment to further progress her studio setup, artwork production and overall development of her art practice.

The Creations of Manuka Award went to Rose-Mary Faulkner. Rose-Mary will use her award to acquire materials to build a home studio space for meeting exhibition outcomes and developing a sustainable practice.

The Cook Creative Writing Prize was awarded to Julia Faragher, who will use the funding to work on “Song of the Summer”, a young adult novel about a teenage girl who rediscovers music as a way of coping with a family tragedy.

The Urban Pantry Manuka Emerging Artist Award went to Lucy Palmer, who will use the Award to purchase a pneumatic grinder to produce new original glass artwork through grinding and polishing at a larger and more complex scale than is currently possible.

There were three winners of the inaugural All Insure Emerging Artist Award this year. Belle Palmer will use her Award for repairing and making her workshop functional again. Lucy Chetcuti will use her Award to explore techniques in encaustic wax painting to create a new series of work based on painting in the expanded field. And Linda Chen will use her Award for the development and rework of a new play treatment and writing process with a mentor.

The inaugural Canberra Museum and Gallery Emerging Artist Award went to Prue Hazelgrove. Prue will use this funding in a photographic exploration of past, present and future LGBTQI+ identity, its censorship and erasure among the context of the church institution and broader society.

The Craft ACT Emerging Artist Award went to Sue Peachey. She will make a series of ceramic works that respond creatively to the principles of the regenerative earth care system of Permaculture.