2019 Award Recipients

CAPO’s most prestigious award was presented by Patricia Piccinini to painter Julie Bradley who will be the 2019 CAPO Fellow. Julie intends to use her Fellowship Award to create a new body of work and mount an exhibition in Melbourne in 2020, inspired by her artist residency at Ballinglen Art Foundation in Ireland.

The Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award has been presented to Lisa Cahill. Lisa will use this Award to create a new body of architectural glass installations inspired by the natural world, and to fund the purchase of a compressor that will be essential in making this work.The Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award is funded conjointly by Bates & Pickering and CAPO. Lisa was also awarded the inaugural Craft ACT Award.

The Tall Foundation Award was awarded to Saskia Scott. Saskia will use the funds from this award to curate an exhibition at ANCA Gallery in April 2020.  Titled Common Threads, the exhibition will bring together new bodies of work by artists Marilou Chagnaud, Lucia Dohrmann  and Kate Little.

The inaugural Raine and Horne Commercial Award was awarded to Michael Dooley. Michael intends to use this award to fund the live performance and recording of a newly-composed contemporary sacred oratorio entitled Perpetua for choir, soloists and ensemble.

The Robert Foster Memorial Award was presented to Kristina Neuman. Kristina will travel to Germany to undertake a MFA at Hochschule Trier and purchase a camera for professional photography in her practice. The Robert Foster Memorial Award is jointly funded by TSA and CAPO. Kristina was also awarded the inaugural Craft ACT Emerging Artist Award.

The Canberra Weekly Award was presented to Neil Doody, who will use this Award to purchase a professional roving microphone set-up to enhance his ability to record and produce interviews in the field for Arts Program radio broadcasts.

The Shaw & Partners Award was given to Rebecca Selleck. Rebecca will make use of the funds from this award to create a new body of cast sculptural works that provide a deeper way of thinking about our relationship with water and the environment.

The Belco Arts Centre Inclusion Award went to textile artist Vera Delova. Vera will use this Award to mount an exhibition of her tapestry works, highlighting the possibilities of recycling broken and discarded items into her final pieces.

The MPS Travel & Tours Award was given to Jake Silvestro. Jake intends to produce a physical theatre show exploring the intersections between acrobatics, drawing and interactive theatre, utilising large scale paper, world class circus disciplines and boundless imagination.

The winner of the Capital Chemist Award was Millán Pintos-Lopez. As a result of receiving this award he will be able to now accept an invitation to complete an artist residency at the University Of Tasmania School Of Creative Arts.

The Workplace Research Associates Award went to Samuel Townsend, who intends to research and develop his manuscript, From Sir, With Love; a memoir of a gay teacher bullied at work. Samuel also received the inaugural Cook Creative Writing Prize to further fund his research and manuscript development.

The Canberra Glassworks Award was presented to Louis Grant, allowing him to extend his investigations in his current emerging practice, combining kiln-formed and cold-worked glass with custom fabricated neon elements.

The Urban Pantry Manuka Award went to Dan Venables, who will use the Award to set up his home studio for his knife-making practice.

The Macquarie Telecom Award went to photographer Amy McGregor. The funding will assist in the purchase of lighting equipment to produce a new series of work.

The PSC Capital Insurance Brokers Emerging Artist Award went to Abbey Jamieson. Abbey Jamieson will collaborate with Rowan McGinness to produce a playful landscape of painted ceramic objects. This new work merges fine art and craft practices.

The McGrath Woden Emerging Artist Award was given to Rowan McGinness. In partnership with Abbey Jamieson, Rowan will use her award to collaborate on the partnership outlined in the previous award.